clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New York Giants depth chart: Changes at strong safety for Week 2 of preseason

Jeromy Miles listed as starting safety.

Jeromy Miles
Jeromy Miles
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The only changes to the New York Giants unofficial depth chart for their preseason Week 2 game against the Jacksonville Jaguars come at the safety position. Newly-signed safety Brandon Meriweather might end up as a Week 1 regular-season starter. He might end up not making the 53-man roster. We don't know. What we do know is that are initially listing Meriweather as a fourth-team strong safety.

Another change is the player listed as the starter there. In the initial depth chart, second-year man Bennett Jackson was listed with the first team. This week, however, Jackson is listed as second team and former Baltimore Ravens reserver Jeromy Miles is listed as the starter. That, likely, is because the Giants are using Jackson more in a hybrid role where he plays some safety and drops into the slot in nickel packages.

Defensive coordinator Steve Spagnuolo didn't exactly give Miles a ringing endorsement when he was asked about him on Monday.

"Well, Jeromy [Miles] has always been more of a special teams player, he was never really a pure starter in this league. But I felt he could at least provide depth, some veteran presence, and certainly special teams. We'll see where it goes with regards to playing safety and how much," Spagnuolo said. "There was a comfort level there, when you know people, I knew what kind of effort you were going to get from Jeromy. I know he's a pro, I know he works at it, I know he studies the game. I think that's all been evident. And he'll tell you he'd like to be playing a little bit better football than he did the other night."


WR1 Rueben Randle Corey Washington Geremy Davis Derrick Johnson
LT Ereck Flowers Emmett Cleary Sean Donnelly Will Beatty
LG Justin Pugh Adam Gettis Michael Bamiro
C Weston Richburg Dallas Reynolds Brett Jones
RG Geoff Schwartz John Jerry Eric Herman
RT Marshall Newhouse Brandon Mosley Bobby Hart
TE Daniel Fells Larry Donnell Adrien Robinson Jerome Cunningham
Will Tye
QB Eli Manning Ryan Nassib Ricky Stanzi
RB Rashad Jennings Andre Williams Shane Vereen Akeem Hunt
Orleans Darkwa
Kenneth Harper
WR2 Victor Cruz Preston Parker Julian Talley
WR3 Odell Beckham Jr Dwayne Harris Juron Criner James Jones
FB Henry Hynoski Nikita Whitlock


LDE Kerry Wynn Owa Odighizuwa Brad Bars
LDT Cullen Jenkins Markus Kuhn Kenrick Ellis Dominique Hamilton
RDT Johnathan Hankins Jay Bromley Carlif Taylor
RDE Robert Ayers Damontre Moore George Selvie Jordan Stanton
SLB Devon Kennard Mark Herzlich Victor Butler
MLB Jon Beason Jameel McClain Devin Unga Tony Johnson
WLB J.T. Thomas Jonathan Casillas Cole Farrand
LCB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie Jayron Hosley Trumaine McBride Josh Gordy
SS Jeromy Miles Bennett Jackson Justin Currie Brandon Meriweather
FS Landon Collins Cooper Taylor Nat Berhe Justin Halley
RCB Prince Amukamara Chykie Brown Chandler Fenner Trevin Wade
Mike Harris