clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL waiver wire primer: New York Giants 10th on priority list

Will the Giants be awarded any players today?

NFL: Preseason-New York Giants at New York Jets
Jerry Reese
Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports

The 53-man roster that the New York Giants set when they made “final” cuts on Saturday almost certainly won’t be the 53-man roster that faces the Dallas Cowboys next Sunday in Week 1 of the 2016 NFL regular season.

With eight linebackers on their current roster and needs for increased depth in a few spots, such as the offensive line and at tight end, the Giants will be looking at the waiver wire and at vested veterans (those with four years or more of experience) who were cut Saturday and are now free agents.

A player like former Green Bay Packers guard Josh Sitton, an eight-year veteran, is a free agent not subject to waivers. There is, of course, tremendous interest from the Giants fan base in Sitton. Be aware, though, that reports indicate the number of teams interested in Sitton is in the “double digits.” So, even if the Giants aggressively pursue the Pro Bowl guard there is no guarantee they can bring him to East Rutherford.

Let’s quickly take a look at how the waiver wire works.

If the Giants want to claim any players waived on Saturday (those with less than four years of experience) they have to do so by noon ET Sunday. That is when the claiming period for those players expires.

Simply because the Giants claim a player does not mean they will be awarded that player. The Giants are, for now, 10th on the waiver priority list. That’s the same spot they drafted in during the spring. Here’s how it works:

Clubs are assigned players on a priority basis. From the first business day after the Super Bowl until the day after the third regular season week, assignments are based on a claiming order that is the same as the order in which clubs selected in that year’s Draft. From the beginning of the fourth regular season weekend through the Super Bowl, assignments are based on the inverse order of their win-loss record. For example, a team with fewer wins will be awarded a player off waivers ahead of a team with a better record.

So, if the Giants claim a player and none of the nine teams ahead of them claim that same player he will be awarded to them. If someone ahead of them claims the player, the Giants will miss out.

Waiver wire order

1. Tennessee Titans

2. Cleveland Browns

3. San Diego Chargers

4. Dallas Cowboys

5. Jacksonville Jaguars

6. Baltimore Ravens

7. San Francisco 49ers

8. Miami Dolphins

9. Tampa Bay Buccaneers

10. New York Giants

11. Chicago Bears

12. New Orleans Saints

13. Philadelphia Eagles

14. Oakland Raiders

15. Los Angeles Rams

16. Detroit Lions

17. Atlanta Falcons

18. Indianapolis Colts

19. Buffalo Bills

20. New York Jets

21. Washington Redskins

22. Houston Texans

23. Minnesota Vikings

24. Cincinnati Bengals

25. Seattle Seahawks

26. Green Bay Packers

27. Pittsburgh Steelers

28. Kansas City Chiefs

29. New England Patriots

30. Arizona Cardinals

31. Carolina Panthers

32. Denver Broncos