clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pro Bowl Rosters 2017: Four New York Giants selected

New, comments

OBJ, Jenkins, Collins & Harris are NFC Pro Bowlers

NFL: Dallas Cowboys at New York Giants Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Pro Bowl rosters have been announced by the NFL Network and four New York Giants’ made the cut in the NFC. The NFL returned to the old NFC vs. AFC format for this year’s game. Wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr., cornerback Janoris Jenkins, safety Landon Collins and special teamer Dwayne Harris, will represent the Giants.

For Jenkins, it’s the first Pro Bowl selection of his five-year career. He’s been everything the Giants’ wanted and more since coming over from the Rams last off-season. Jenkins is as close to a true shutdown cornerback as there is in the league. He limited Cowboy’s WR Dez Bryant to two receptions for 18 yards and a fumble in two games as the Giants swept Dallas for the first time since 2011. Jenkins has 48 tackles (43 solo), three interceptions, and is tied with Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie with a team-high 17 passes defensed.

“It took me a while to get here,” said Jenkins, a five-year veteran. “I am very thankful for everyone who voted and I am just excited. The Pro Bowl was a goal of mine coming in and I just want to thank everybody for playing around me, elevating my game and making me play harder. I thought one day (in would happen). I didn’t know what day it was going to be. I am glad that it finally came, and I am truly blessed.”

It’s also the first Pro Bowl for Collins. After an up-and-down rookie season, Collins does it all for New York in year-two. He leads the Giants in tackles (105), interceptions (5, with one TD-return) and has three sacks. He’s not only been one of the league’s top safeties in 2016, but is in the running for Defensive Player of the Year. Collins is the first NFL safety with 100+ tackles, at least five interceptions, and at least 3.0 sacks since Rodney Harrison in 2000.

“Oh man, it is exciting,” Collins said of his selection. “It is a blessing and all I can do is thank my brothers for staying on top of me and staying on top of my game, and just pushing me to another level.”

Beckham (85 receptions, 1,173 yards & 10 touchdowns through 14 games) makes his third consecutive Pro Bowl and is the first player in NFL history with at least 80 receptions, 1,000 yards and 10 TDs in each of his first three years in the league. He also leads the league in punt return TDs that don’t count — scores against the Cleveland Browns and Detroit Lions were called back on holding penalties. Beckham is the first Giant to make three consecutive Pro Bowls since Chris Snee (2008-10).

“It is exciting,” Beckham said. “It is cool to be on a team with multiple Pro Bowlers, so it is a huge accomplishment for myself and my teammates.”

Harris rounds out the Giants’ Pro Bowlers. After some early-season struggles and injuries, Harris has been invaluable on special teams both in the return game and has downed several punts inside the 10-yard line.

“I have been working for this for so long,” said Harris, who joined the Giants in 2015 after four seasons with the Dallas Cowboys. “I just feel like every year, something happens where I couldn’t get in, especially all the good years I have had. I just feel like one person has always gotten in front of me. But to get my first one feels amazing.”

Here are the league-wide selections (*denotes starters).



Matt Ryan*, Falcons Aaron Rodgers, Packers, Dak Prescott, Cowboys

Running backs

Ezekiel Elliott*, Cowboys; David Johnson, Cardinals; Devonta Freeman, Falcons, Mike Tolbert (FB), Panthers

Wide receivers

Julio Jones*, Falcons; Odell Beckham*, Giants; Mike Evans, Buccaneers; Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals

Tight ends

Greg Olsen*, Panthers; Jordan Reed, Redskins

Offensive line

Tyron Smith*, Cowboys; Trent Williams*, Redskins; Jason Peters, Eagles, Zack Martin*, Cowboys; Brandon Scherff*, Redskins; T.J. Lang, Packers, Travis Frederick*, Cowboys; Alex Mack, Falcons

Defensive line

Everson Griffen*, Vikings; Cliff Avril*, Seahawks; Michael Bennett, Seahawks, Aaron Donald*, Rams; Gerald McCoy*, Buccaneers; Fletcher Cox, Eagles


Vic Beasley*, Falcons; Ryan Kerrigan*, Redskins; Thomas Davis, Panthers, Bobby Wagner*, Seahawks; Luke Kuechly, Panthers


Janoris Jenkins*, Giants; Patrick Peterson*, Cardinals; Richard Sherman, Seahawks; Xavier Rhodes, Vikings, Harrison Smith*, Vikings; Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Packers, Landon Collins*, Giants

Special Teams

Johnny Hekker*, Rams, Matt Bryant*, Falcons, Cordarrelle Patterson*, Vikings, Dwayne Harris*, Giants



Tom Brady (starter), Derek Carr, Ben Roethlisberger

Running backs

Le’Veon Bell, Demarco Murray, Lesean McCoy, Kyle Juszcyzyk (FB)

Wide receivers

Antonio Brown, A.J. Green, Amari Cooper, T.Y. Hilton

Tight ends

Travis Kelce, Delanie Walker

Offensive line

Joe Thomas*, Browns; Donald Penn*, Raiders; Taylor Lewan, Titans, Marshal Yanda*, Ravens; Kelechi Osemele*, Raiders; David DeCastro, Steelers, Rodney Hudson*, Raiders; Maurkice Pouncey, Steelers

Defensive line

Khalil Mack*, Raiders; Cameron Wake*, Dolphins; Jadeveon Clowney, Texans, Geno Atkins*, Bengals; Ndamukong Suh*, Dolphins; Jurrell Casey, Titans


Von Miller*, Broncos; Lorenzo Alexander*, Bills; Brian Orakpo, Titans, Dont'a Hightower*, Patriots; C.J. Mosley, Ravens


Marcus Peters*, Chiefs; Aqib Talib*, Broncos; Casey Hayward, Chargers; Chris Harris Broncos, Devin McCourty*, Patriots; Reggie Nelson, Raiders, Eric Berry*, Chiefs

Special Teams

Pat McAfee*, Colts, Justin Tucker*; Ravens, Tyreek Hill*, Chiefs, Matthew Slater*, Patriots