clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014 nominees topped by Michael Strahan

Pro Football Hall of Fame announces 2014 nominees.

Michael Strahan
Michael Strahan

Michael Strahan headlines the list of nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2014. The nominees were announced Thursday.

The defensive end is one of 16 players or coaches with connections to the Giants who have been nominated. That list includes:

Strahan; PK Morten Anderson (2001); KR Brian Mitchell (2003); Coach Bill Arnsparger (1974-76); P Sean Landeta (1985-1993); QB Phil Simms (1979-1993); TE Mark Bavaro (1985-1990); RB Ottis Anderson (1986-1992); DB Everson Walls (1990-1992); Coach Dan Reeves (1993-1996); OT Lomas Brown (2000-2001); GM George Young (1979-1997); RB Tiki Barber (1997-2006); RB/KR Dave Meggett (1989-1994); RB Herschel Walker (1995); CB Sam Madison (2006-2008).

Strahan, of course, was -- wrongly, in my opinion -- left out of the Class of 2013, which was his first year of eligibility. The clas sof 2014 will be announced Feb. 1, 2014, the day before the Super Bowl at MetLife Stadium. Let's hope Hall of Fame voters right that wrong this time around and give Strahan the opportunity to celebrate his election to the Hall with the home fans.

There are many other notable names on the list, but none who likely have a real shot at being selected.