clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Super Bowl 2013 winner: Ravens top 49ers, 34-31, for title

The Baltimore Ravens are the 2013 Super Bowl winner, defeating the San Francisco 49ers, 34-31, in Super Bowl XLVII.

Ronald Martinez

The Baltimore Ravens earned the 2013 Super Bowl title on Sunday night, holding off a furious comeback by the San Francisco 49ers for a 34-31y victor in Super Bowl XLVII.

Baltimore led, 28-6, when a power outage at the Superdome in New Orleans caused a delay of 35 minutes. The 49ers rallied to get within two points, 31-29, but could not pull off the miracle comeback.

Ravens' quarterback Joe Flacco was named MVP. He completed 22-of-33 passes for 287 yards and three touchdowns. San Francisco quarterback Colin Kaepernick completed 16-of-28 for 302 yards with one touchdown and one interception. He also ran 15 yards for a score.

The 49ers had a chance to take the lead in the final two minutes but the Ravens stopped a San Francisco drive inside the 5-yard line.

Join the jubilant Baltimore fans for their celebration at Baltimore Beatdown. See Niners Nation for the San Francisco perspective.

SB Nation has full coverage of every possible angle on the SB Nation NFL Hub Page.