clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Looking back at the BBV All-Time Giants Team

We had a lot of fun last summer naming our Big Blue View All-Time Giants Team. I thought it might be interesting to revisit that team, especially since we have lots of new members around here who have never seen it.

We went position by position and voted on each spot. The team we selected is below.


Bill Parcells


Punter -- Sean Landeta
Placekicker -- Matt Bahr


Defensive End -- Michael Strahan
Defensive End -- Leonard Marshall
Defensive Tackle -- Roosevelt Grier
Middle Linebacker -- Harry Carson
Middle Linebacker -- Sam Huff
Outside Linebacker -- Lawrence Taylor
Outside Linebacker -- Brad Van Pelt
Cornerback -- Dick Lynch
Cornerback -- Mark Collins
Safety -- Emlen Tunnell
Safety -- Spider Lockhart


Center -- Mel Hein
Guard -- Ron Stone
Guard -- Chris Snee
Tackle -- Rosey Brown
-- Jumbo Elliott
Tight End
-- Mark Bavaro
Wide Receiver
-- Amani Toomer
Wide Receiver -- Homer Jones
Running Back -- Tiki Barber
Running Back -- Frank Gifford
Quarterback -- Phil Simms

I disagree with a couple of the selections. The old-timers will tell you Jack Stroud deserves one of the guard spots. The deeper we get into Chris Snee's career, though, the less I can disagree with putting him here.

Another oldtimer who got dissed for a name more familiar to younger fans is safety Jimmy Patton, a five-time Pro Bowler who lost out to Spider Lockhart.

In the vote for all-time punter, Sean Landeta defeated Jeff Feagles by two -- yes, two -- votes.

So, in retrospect, how do you think we did?