clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The schedule, and more Braylon Edwards talk

New, comments

Giants_notebook_468_medium

Here is your 2009 New York Giants' schedule, released last night on NFL.com and the NFL Network.

I don't get into trying to analyze schedules, especially in April. The season doesn't start for five months, and nobody really knows how good or bad any of these teams will be when the games finally roll around.

I will worry about the games when they get here. But, go ahead and have at it if you absolutely must dissect the schedule

Sunday, Sept. 13 vs. WASHINGTON, 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 20 at Dallas, 8:20 p.m.
Sunday, Sept. 27 at Tampa, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 4 at Kansas City, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 11 vs. OAKLAND, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 18 at New Orleans, 1 p.m.
Sunday, Oct. 25 vs. ARIZONA, 8:20 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 1 at Philadelphia, 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 8 vs. SAN DIEGO, 4:15 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 15 BYE
Sunday, Nov. 22 vs. ATLANTA, 1 p.m.*
Thursday, Nov. 26 at Denver, 8:20 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 6 vs. DALLAS, 4:15 p.m.*
Sunday, Dec. 13 vs. PHILADELPHIA, 8:20 p.m.*
Monday, Dec. 21 at Washington, 8:30 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 27 vs. CAROLINA, 1 p.m.*
Sunday, Jan. 3 at Minnesota, 1 p.m.*

*Times subject to change due to NFL’s flexible scheduling system

According to an NFL source familiar with the situation, the Giants and Browns have recently re-opened discussions about the big, 26-year-old receiver that had begun last month at the scouting combine in Indianapolis. The talks are more substantial now than they were, and the source said the Browns appear eager to make a deal.

The Giants certainly have a lot to offer, but they may not be willing to deal the one thing that could immediately get the deal done. The Browns are believed to desire defensive end Mathias Kiwanuka. However, one Giants source who would not confirm anything about possible trade talks, said the Giants have no intention of trading the promising 26-year-old end.

What might be on the table, though, is their first-round pick - 29th overall. According to a report in The National Football Post, the Browns currently have an offer of a No. 1 pick on the table from an unidentified team. The report states the Browns are "in love" with Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree, whom they would take with the fifth overall pick, presumably to replace Edwards in their lineup (though they could also make quite the dynamic 1-2 punch, too). ...

It’s too early to tell if a deal is really that likely, but clearly GM Jerry Reese - who declined to comment on any possible talks - is positioning the Giants to be in the hunt.

Personally, I have to believe there is a real chance of a deal bringing Edwards to the Giants is a strong possibility. There have been too many reports in too many places to simply disregard them.